Margot Robbie takes the title of Best Actress at the 7th annual AACTA International Award

By:- Kanishka Yadav


The most adorable and talented, Australian actress win lots of hearts from her acting in the movie I, Tonya and secured the first part of a potential sweep of awards season for her stunning work.

Robbie defeated Dame Judi Dench, Sally Hawkins, Frances McDormand and Saorise Ronan to take home best actress at the 7th annual AACTA International Awards in Los Angeles.

Still ahead for Robbie are nominations at the Golden Globe Awards and the Screen Actors Guild Awards and even hopefully a possible Oscar nomination for her incredible performance as controversial skater Tonya Harder.

But other three Australian A -list nominees, came up with empty hands – Hugh Jackman, Nicole Kidman and Ben Mendelsohn.

Jackman, actor who got fame from wolverine and known as Logan, lost out in the best lead actor category to Gary Oldman, Kidman (The Killing of a Sacred Deer) was pipped for the best supporting actress award by Alison Janney and Mandelsohn beaten by Sam Rockwell for best supporting actor.
“This is a beauty”, Oldman said of the AACTA statue, the actor said he was ‘deeply honoured’ to receive the award and paid tribute to Australia’s contribution to international film -making.

As a forward -pointing predictor of potential Oscar success, the LA AACTAs gave their strongest push to Martin McDonagh’s black comedy three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri.

Three Billboards won three LA AACTA categories: best film, best screenplay for writer -director McDonagh ( he lost direction to Dunkirk’s Christoph Nolan) and best supporting actor for Rockwell.
In securing best film, Three Billboards edged out four other nominees: Luca Guadnino’s Call Me by Your Name, Christopher Nolan’s Dunkirk, Greta Gerwig’s Ladybird and Guillermo del Toro’s The Shape of Water.

The AACTA International Awards are given out by the Australian Academy kf Cinema and Television Arts and recognise excellence in film, direction, screen writing and screen performance. The event was hausted by Hugh Sheridan and the presenters included Jai Courtney, Josh Lawson, Mallory Jansen, Liam Melntyre, Daniel MacPherson, Josh Thomas and director Phillip Noyce.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *